Press Release

Winter Celebration at Symphony Space Features ISO Collaboration with Mingus Dynasty


Young musicians from InterSchool Orchestras of New York present a Winter Celebration featuring a collaboration with Mingus Dynasty and Renée Manning

The Winter Celebration concert features the four levels of orchestras in InterSchool Orchestrasof New York including Morningside, Carnegie Hill, Concert Orchestra and the ISO Symphony, conducted by Dr. Matt Rotjan, Steve Rochen, Joseph Meyers, and Barry Stern respectively. The ISO Symphony will be joined on stage by Renée Manning and members of Mingus Dynasty, providing a snapshot of ISO’s dynamic season and showcasing the achievement of the students.

The Winter Celebration will take place at Symphony Space’s Peter Jay Sharp Theatre, Upper
Level, 2537 Broadway, New York, NY 10025 at 5:30 pm on Sunday, December 8th, 2019.

Tickets can be purchased for $30 at until the concert.

Download the full press release

InterSchool Orchestras of New York and the Mingus Dynasty Collaborate to Present MINGUS


InterSchool Orchestras of New York and the Mingus Dynasty are collaborating to present MINGUS.  This concert features never-before-heard full orchestra arrangements of popular Mingus tunes arranged by Earl McIntyre.  It will also feature solo performances by the Mingus Dynasty.

MINGUS will present new arrangements, created by Earl McIntyre and featuring members of Mingus Dynasty, reimagine Mingus’ Nobody Knows the Bradley I Know, Duke Ellington’s Sound of Love, and Don’t Let it Happen Here to include the powerful sound of a full symphony orchestra. The ISO Symphony Orchestra, under the direction of Barry Stern, consists of students, aged 12 to 19, from every corner of New York City.

This concert will take place at Long Island University’s Kumble Theater, 1 University Place, Brooklyn, NY at 6 pm on Sunday, November 17, 2019.

Tickets are $20.  Purchase online.

Mingus Dynasty Musicians include:

Alto Saxophone: Alex Foster
Tenor Saxophone: Scott Robinson
Trumpet: Dr. Alex Pope Norris
Trombone:  Robin Eubanks
Piano: Theo Hill
Bass: Boris Kozlov
Drums: Donald Edwards

Also featured:

Singer:  Renée Manning

Download the full press release


InterSchool Orchestras: Changing the Face of Youth Orchestra Music


July 30, 2019, New York City…The InterSchool Orchestras of New York (ISO), a nonprofit organization, is changing the face of youth orchestra music with its focus on cross-cultural genres in announcing its 2019-2020 Season in New York City.  New partnerships with many diverse and prestigious organizations highlight the rich cultural heritage of the City and expose young musicians to a wide range of musical collaborations.

Read the full press release

InterSchool Orchestras of New York Announces 2019-2020 Season in New York City

The InterSchool Orchestras of New York (ISO), a nonprofit organization, has announced its 2019-2020 Season in New York City with a stellar line up of conductors. ISO serves more than 250 school-aged children and provides a nurturing environment where all children can realize their personal best, achieve high artistic standards, and share music with the community. Generous financial aid and scholarships ensure that every child can participate.

“We look forward to an extraordinary new season of music thanks to our multi-talented conductors and staff. We are starting the year with a Tribute to Howard Johnson and Gravity at Merkin Hall and have new commissions by Daniel Felsenfeld, Huang Ruo, and Arturo O’Farrill for youth orchestra. We will be doing exciting partnerships with the New York Chinese Cultural Center, Mingus and Ballet Hispanico as well as community concerts at Kumble Theater at LIU and a PhilarMonster in Brooklyn Heights and a 50th Anniversary of Earth Day Celebration with the Trinity Church Youth Chorus. We are so excited to be leading the field in cross-cultural, multi-dimension genre works for youth orchestra. The students will remember these performances for their entire lives,” said Karen Geer, ISO Executive Director.

Read the full press release